fbpx

This is our catalog of courses. We will occasionally adjust the course listing to reflect the addition of new courses and the retirement of others. 

Live GS
Art and Music
Grade School Art: Impressionism and Portraits

Sign up with your grade school child to bring Beauty and Appreciation into your homeschool lessons. Art history, culture, and fun art techniques are all covered. We hope to see you in class!

Total classes: 8

Prerequisite: None

Suggested grade level: 3rd to 6th grade

Suggested credit: ½ semester Art 

Outline

Week 1: Impressionism and Value

Week 2: Impressionism and Texture

Week 3: Impressionism and Color

Week 4: Impressionism and Line

Week 5: Intro to Portraits

Week 6: Impressionist Self-Portraits

Week 7: Abstract and Realistic Self-Portraits

Week 8: Romero Brito Style

Materials and Homework

Materials:

Students will create original works of art using the medium of their choice. Suggested materials (purchase student art-quality brands): art paper (an art notebook works well), colored pencils, watercolor pencils, various markers, drawing pencils, erasers, clay, charcoal, and watercolor or acrylic paints and brushes.

Homework:

Students will complete auto-graded quizzes and create an art project each week. Time required: 30 min-3 hours outside of the LIVE class, depending upon student interest.

Important Dates

Class dates: Fridays, January 17 to March 14, 2025 (No class March 7)

Starting time: 10:00 AM Eastern (9:00 Central; 8:00 Mountain; 7:00 Pacific)

Duration: 30 minutes (plus optional off-camera student sharing time)

THIS COURSE IS OFFERED LIVE
Choose from courses in all subject areas for your upper grade school, middle school, and high school student—taught by worldwide experts in Catholic education.
Other Courses to Explore

Pin It on Pinterest